Honors History

History of the Honors Community  

1926  |  Mackenzie Honor Society

  • Organized in 1926 and open to men only. 
  • Named in honor of David Mackenzie, first dean of what is now the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences. 
  • 1931: Karyatides, a womens honor society, is established. 
  • 1981: Mackenzie and Karyatides are merged; combined program becomes David Mackenzie Honor Society. 
  • David Mackenzie Honor Society continues to induct several top graduating seniors and one honorary member annually.
  • Past honorary members include journalist Helen Thomas '42 and Wayne State president emeritus, Irvin D. Reid. 

1959  |  Monteith College                      

  • Founded in 1959 
  • Offered students (known as Monteith Scholars) the advantages of a small college within a large university 
  • Home to some of Wayne State's most innovative faculty members and students during the '60s and '70s
  • Students embraced new ideas as the college emphasized dialogue and inquiry, with a goal to identify and impart knowledge that every student should possess 

"We want our students to look at the world whole, but without missing the details."   Monteith faculty member 

1972  |  Merit Scholars Program  

Passionate invite to donate with fellow Merit Scholars         

  • Created in 1972
  • Provided full tuition to more than 4,500 students demonstrating superior academic achievement
  • Continues today as the Presidential Scholars program

2008  |  Irvin D. Reid Honors College   

  • Founded in 2008
  • Named for former Wayne State President Irvin D. Reid
  • Highest-achieving undergraduates are invited to join an engaged and dynamic academic community