Alumni and Friends

Monteith College

Monteith College was founded in 1959 and, until 1979, focused on offering students the feel of a small interdisciplinary program within a larger research university. The college was funded through a $700,000 grant from the Ford Foundation and a matching investment from Wayne State. Monteith students enrolled in a general education core that consisted of courses in Natural Science, Science of Society, Socio-Humanistic Studies and Humanistic Studies. Teams of faculty taught these courses, with their own areas of scholarship influencing the discussion.

Monteith College Endowed Scholarship

The Irvin D. Reid Honors College proudly established the Monteith College Endowed Scholarship in 2008, with a $5,000 lead gift. This scholarship, created in celebration of the 50th anniversary of Monteith'sfounding, will allow future generations of talented Wayne State students to be touched by the principles and values that Monteith College alumni hold dear.

Lost alumni

If you have any information regarding the following Lost Alumni, please contact us at

150 years in the heart of Detroit