Wayne State University
Back to Top

News and Announcements Archive

President Irvin D. Reid, 16 graduates inducted to honor society

April 10, 2007

The David Mackenzie Honor Society at Wayne State University will induct WSU President Irvin D. Reid as an honorary member April 17 at the McGregor Memorial Conference Center on campus. Reid joins an illustrious list of honorary inductees that includes journalism legend Helen Thomas, human rights activist Millie Jeffrey and weathercaster Sonny Elliot.

Sixteen graduating seniors also will be inducted for their outstanding academic achievement and contributions to the Wayne State community.

The society – one of the most prestigious groups at WSU – is named for David Mackenzie, the first dean of what is now the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences. The society was founded in 1981 through a merger of Karyatides, the former women’s honor society founded in 1931, and the Mackenzie Honor Society, organized in 1926. Members are chosen for their exceptional contributions to the welfare and development of the university and the community.

“President Reid was selected for his leadership; his prominent role in the creation of TechTown with its focus on community involvement; and of course, his advocacy and commitment to students and the campus community through support of the residence halls, global education initiatives, and the Honors program, to name a few,” says Liza Lagman Sperl, adviser for the Honors program and the honor society.

A public reception honoring all inductees will begin at 5:30 p.m. in the McGregor atrium, followed by a private dinner for the society members and their families. 

Student inductees for 2007 and their majors:

Alexandra Cervenak Dual degree: English Honors, History Honors, with University Honors co-major
Meghan Curavo Classics, Greek and Latin
Clarence Dass History Honors with University Honors co-major
Markeysha Davis Journalism with Africana studies co-major
Renee Florence  Nursing with University Honors co-major and Health Psychology minor
Rebecca Grace Economics with University Honors co-major and Spanish minor
Brandy Johnson Marketing with Psychology and Women’s Studies minors
Bethany Mesko Accounting with Psychology minor
Meghan Misiak Education with University Honors co-major
Noah Morgan English
Ira Mulo Biological Science Honors with Spanish minor 
Mark Nasr Civil Engineering
Priscilla Phifer Interdisciplinary Studies with Nonprofit Sector Studies minor
David Robillard Interdisciplinary Studies with Business Administration minor
Morgan Thompson Biological Science Honors with University Honors co-major and Chemistry minor  
David Topolewski  Accounting with University Honors co-major