Wayne State University
Back to Top

Updates of Former Merit Scholars

Instituted in 1972 for undergraduate students selected by the Admissions Office on the basis of the highest degree of academic excellence in high school or community college, the Merit Scholarship provided full tuition for four years+ to over 4,500 students attending Wayne State University. In the mid 1990's the Merit Scholars Program, was renamed the Presidential Scholars Program. Today's Presidential Scholars are some of our brightest students, who — when they graduate — become southeast Michigan's leading doctors and engineers, lawyers and educators, artists and business executives. The Irvin D. Reid Honors College, the campus home of the Presidential Scholars Program would like to hear from former Wayne State Merit Scholars who attended the university under this prestigious scholarship.

Merit Scholarship
To honor the legacy of the Merit Scholarship, the Irvin D. Reid Honors College established the Merit Scholars Alumni Annual Scholarship in 2010.  We hope you will consider supporting this fund or establishing your own named scholarship to benefit our rising scholars. Gifts can be made online, or you may contact Kelley Stokes, Major Gifts Officer for Honors, at kstokes@wayne.edu or 313-577-9081 for more information on alternative methods of giving.

Profiles on former Wayne State Merit Scholars

We are pleased to present a forum where Wayne State Merit Scholars can be showcased with updates on their memories of their time at Wayne along with many accomplishments and career moves since graduation.

Angulique Outlaw

Angulique Outlaw, Ph.D.

 Diane (Gietzen) Jett

Diane (Gietzen) Jett


Coming Soon

Judy Tencza

Keith Kalinowski


Mark A. Lumley Ph.D.